Board of Directors


The Board consists of the following executive and non-executive Directors: 

Colin Bird (Non-executive Chairman) 
Higher National Diploma in Mining Engineering (Trent Polytech College, United Kingdom)

Mr Bird is a Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining and a UK Chartered Engineer. He also holds a UK and South African Mine Managers Certificate for coal mines. The formative part of his career was spent in the UK coal mining industry and thereafter he moved to the Zambian copper belt and then to South Africa to work in a management position with Anglo Coal and BP Coal. On his return to the UK he was Technical and Operations Director of Costain Mining Ltd, which involved responsibility for Costain’s interest in the UK, Latin-America and Spain. Mr Bird has had senior technical and operational experience in a number of commodities to include coal, nickel, gold, copper and industrial minerals.

After his extensive operational and technical career, he became involved in corporate finance and has been the prime mover in a number of public listings, mainly on the UK AIM market

Laurence Read (Executive Director) 

Laurence Read is a UK resident, and has sixteen years’ working with public and private companies in particular in the natural resources sector.

Evan Kirby (Non-executive Director) 

Dr Kirby is a metallurgist with over 30 years of international experience in the mining sector.  He has held senior management positions with Impala Platinum, Rand Mines and Rustenburg Platinum Mines and worked as a director and technical consultant for a number of mining companies.  He is currently a director or Bezant Resources plc (AIM) and Nyota Minerals Lmited (ASX & AIM).

Myles Campion (Technical Director)

Mr. Myles Stuart Campion has been Technical Director and Executive Director of Ferrum Crescent Limited since November 21, 2017 and October 17, 2017 respectively. Mr. Campion served as a Fund Manager of Oceanic Asset Management Pty Ltd, Australian Natural Resources OEIC and Global Connections Funds plc - Junior Resources Fund. Mr. Campion has 24 years' experience in the natural resources sector, including Resource analyst, Fund Manager, equities research and project and debt financing. He has over 10 years as a field geologist that includes success at the Emily Ann Nickel Sulphide Mine. He was based in London for five years working at Barclays Capital in their natural resources team and as a Senior Resource Analyst at WH Ireland. He served as Fund Manager of CF Global Resources Fund. He served as the Project Geologist at LionOre responsible for the exploration, discovery and BFS completion of the Emily Ann Nickel Sulphide Mine. Mr. Campion's financial experience ranges from Australian and UK equities research through to project and debt financing in London, covering the entire spectrum of mining companies with an extensive knowledge of the global resources market covering the three main bourses, the Toronto Stock Exchange, AIM and the ASX. He started his career as an exploration and mine site geologist in Australia covering base metals and gold and has a comprehensive background in all technical and financial facets of the resource sector, specializing internationally in resource evaluation, debt capacity modelling, mergers and acquisitions, project assessment and equity/convertible capital raisings. He has been Non-Executive Director at Katoro Gold PLC (formerly Opera Investments Plc) since November 11, 2014. He serves as a Director of Baroque Ltd. He served as a Director at Virico Capital Pty Ltd. and Virico Capital Ltd. He served as a Non-executive Director of Opera Investments Plc since November 11, 2014. He served as a Non Executive Director of Taruga Gold Limited from August 27, 2014 to July 15, 2016. He served as Director of CF Global Resources Fund. and Australian Natural Resources OEIC. He served as Director of Oceanic Asset Management Pty Ltd. He served as a Director at Carmichael Capital Markets and Global Connections Funds plc - Junior Resources Fund. He holds a Graduate Diploma of Business (Finance) and is an Associate of the Royal School of Mines. Mr. Campion earned an M.Sc. in Minerals Exploration from the Royal School of Mines in London and B.Sc. Honors in Geology from University of Wales College Cardiff.

Dan Smith (Non-executive Director & Company Secretary) 

Mr Smith is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Governance Institute of Australia and has over 10 years’ primary and secondary capital markets expertise. As a director of Minerva Corporate, he has advised on, and been involved in, over a dozen IPOs, RTOs and capital raisings on both the ASX and NSX. His key focus is on corporate governance and compliance, commercial due diligence and transaction structuring, as well as ongoing investor and stakeholder engagement. Mr Smith is also currently Company Secretary for Taruga Gold Limited and Love Group Global Limited, both listed on the ASX. He holds a BA in International Relations from Curtin University, Western Australia.

  Subscribe to Email Alerts